A Personal Statement

All I ever wanted was to reach out and touch another human being not just with my hands but with my heart.

-Tahereh Mafi

Now that I’ve been done with school for about a week now, I have more time to dedicate to those that have been in my life and don’t ask for much.
There hasn’t been a doubt that nearing the end of my higher education has brought more events than most I’ve experienced.
In these last six months, I’ve celebrated despair, joy, exhaustion, sheer fear, overwhelm, and everything in between. But the most influential has been the frequency of hospital visits for two family members.
We as humans live a finite life, and to think that we spend most of our lives married to our work, little things often go unnoticed.
I aim to create spaces for people to thrive, to fight for preventative medicine and promote health in the most rudimentary of stages. I may not be a medical professional, but I will design spaces that promote healing, that capture the audience, that break down the fourth wall and open up conversation.
Healing design for a greater good, perhaps my life goal. Perhaps my purpose.

Gratitudes,
-Kat

Type your thoughts out!

