Sopa de Albondigas Saturdays

41115_Featimage
The prep, complete with a groovy playlist.

The Lowdown:

My Saturday mornings consist of farmer’s markets, the local Trader Joe’s, and my weekly duty of making lunch for that day. If you know me, I take my food very seriously! Even more so when it involves my family. Glancing down at the ingredients I picked up from the market, I decided to make one of my all-time favorite comfort foods, Sopa de Albondigas.
Before I even start cooking, I have to put on a good playlist that consists of groovy feel good vibes. It sets “the stage” for a great session in the kitchen, plus, it’s the weekend! In this household, tunes in the kitchen isn’t an option…it’s NECESSARY. My playlist is featured in the righthand sidebar, and also listed below:
Weekend Kitchen Groove Playlist
 **The order of this playlist starts off with an energetic opening of Tuxedo’s “Do It” as a subtle way to get to cookin’ and then proceeds with radio hit “Uptown Funk” and then reverts back in time with a little bit of Motown, preferably Earth, Wind, & Fire and finally slows down with the ever classic “Sailing” just to leave you with a relaxed state of mind as you clean up the kitchen. 


 

THE STORY: Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

My childhood best friend during pre-school to second grade was of hispanic ethnicity and since my parents were usually busy to pick me up from school, I would go to her house on a regular basis. This is where I fell in love with hispanic food, to be more specific, Mexican food. I remember watching her mother and her abuela compose this soup in their kitchen and even though I was young, I became receptive of the tradition behind this dish. The love and care that went into the making of this soup always made me feel at home..even though I wasn’t technically blood-related, they treated me as one of their own.**It also didn’t hurt that we both had the same last name, so we were kinda like sisters anyways. 

This recipe is to pay homage to my adoptive abuela, the instigator of my love for Mexican food. 


THE RECIPE: Vegprep

INGREDIENTS:
2 tbs olive oil
1/2 white onion, diced
2 carrots, peeled & cut into chunks
2 russet potatoes, peeled & cut into chunks
2 zuchini, cut into chunks
2 stalks celery, cut into chunks
1 white chili pepper, leave whole
1(14oz) can diced tomatoes
30 fl oz. low sodium beef broth
20 fl oz. water
salt & pepper to taste
**chopped cilantro & lime to garnish

Meatballin meatballs
1 lb. ground beef
1/2 cup cooked white rice
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp ground oregano
1/8 tsp pepper
1 green onion, finely minced
↑ mix this ingredients together in a bowl and form into balls, using about 1 tablespoon per ball.

Insta_Albondigas

The finished product!

DIRECTIONS:
1. Place olive oil in a heavy stockpot and add onions. Cook until softened (about 2-3 minutes on medium high heat).
2. Add beef broth, water, potato, canned tomatoes, carrots and bring to a boil
3. Once soup is up to a rolling boil, lower heat to simmer and cover for 1 1/2 hours
4. Place meatballs and zucchini into soup and let simmer for another 1 hour
5. When soup is done, ladle into bowls and garnish with cilantro & lime and enjoy!

Catch Ya Later
-Kathy

 

 

 

Type your thoughts out!

