Winter Skincare

skincarewinter

Last year brought about a lot of changes in my life and a current obsession I have (besides re-watching all the seasons of Friends) is simplifying my skincare routine.
I was first acquainted with really taking care of my skin around nineteen years old. I bought my first Clinique 3-Step Skincare kit for my overactive, acne-prone skin and fell in love with the therapeutic process of taking care of my skin. Count down six years later and I’m still obsessed with process as ever!
As the seasons change dynamically (as much as it does here in Southern California) so must my skincare. My usual skincare archetype is oily-combination, but with these drier colder months my skin has needed a lot more moisture as most of us do.
I went to the Aesop store in Abbot Kinney and met with a sensational sales clerk/skincare guru named Luchia and she took care of me and my skincare needs so thoughtfully.
I came out of the store with: Amazing Face Cleanser, Bitter Orange Astringent, and the Oil Free Hydrating Serum. Let me tell you, I am completely smitten with this skincare range. Although its pricey, it’s well worth it. The herbal, non-perfumey smell and the additional no-added dyes does work wonders on my sensitive skin. As the months got colder, I layered the Josie Maran Argan Oil to really give my skin the extra moisture it needed.
For extra deep cleansing I add in rotation my Clarisonic Skincare brush that’s been with me for a couple years and is essential in the makeup removal process. In addition, I’ve recently discovered cleansing balms for the first step of makeup removal. It’s a step to get acclimated to, but the process is very soothing to me (call me crazy, but it feels like I’m having a facial every day!).
On days where I feel like I need to get the extra gunk out, I highly recommend The Face Shop White Clay Dry Mask. It’s the kind that dries and you peel off like a Biore pore strip. It’ extremely satisfying, let me tell ya…
The newest addition to the lineup is the Aesop Primrose Kaolin Clay Mask and it gives off a  warming sensation as it dries (which lets me know its working its magic) and washes off with warm water and a washcloth.
I wish I took before pictures, but here’s the current status of my skin in visual format.

 

 

*Sidenote: These photos aren’t photoshopped, I took them in good light during the morning, and all I have on is moisturizer. Just added my blog watermark at the left corner 🙂

Anyways, what things to you put on your face to make you feel 100%? Leave them in the comments or tweet them to me!

Indelible Gratitude,
-Kat

2 thoughts on “Winter Skincare

    • Thanks Tamara!
      Do you have any serum recommendations for blemishes? I’ve been looking into the Sunday Riley Luna night oil, but really debating the price tag :/
      Just recently read your MAC, Inglot & Zara Haul & YES! I follow Amelia Liana and Estee on YouTube too! They’re so funny, candid and real and hope to meet them one day!
      Thanks for commenting!

      Like

Type your thoughts out!

